| Home | Biography | District 8 | Links | Contact | News |
| Events | Photos | Downloads |

Your voice on the Cherokee Tribal Council to...
  • Initiate legislation which will serve the needs of the people of the 8th District
  • Preserve the language, culture and traditions of the Cherokee Tribe
  • Ensure that the citizens of District 8 receive their fair share of tribal services

On September 24 - I ask for your vote to support

  • Chief Chad Smith

August 2, 2011 - Download the NEW Absentee Ballot Request for the Special Election for Principal Chief

Please note - The request must be completed and returned to the office BEFORE AUGUST 12, 2011

Important Election Information

August 1 - 12                            Voters may request an absentee ballot (5 p.m. cutoff on August 12)
August 29 - 30                          Absentee ballots mailed
Sept. 17, 20, 21 &  22               Early walk-in voting at Cherokee Nation election commission’s office
Sept. 24                                     Election for office of the principal chief

Voting by Absentee Ballot

Voters who cast absentee ballots in the general and run-off elections will automatically receive an absentee ballot for this special election.

Voters who were registered and eligible to vote in the general election can request an absentee ballot from August 1 through August 12 (5 p.m. cutoff on August 12).

Absentee ballots will be mailed August 29 and August 30 to those voters entitled to such ballot.
Both absentee and non-absentee voters can vote in person at the commission office on the day of the election, September 24, from 7:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m.

At-large voters can only vote by absentee ballots. They must do so by mailing the duly executed ballot to the commission's post office box in Tahlequah to be received at the post office by 12:00 p.m. September 24, 2011.

If, however, an absentee ballot was requested but not received, the voter may appear at a precinct to vote by challenged ballot upon verification by the precinct official.

In-Person Voting
Voters can vote early at the Cherokee Nation election commission office September 17, 20, 21 and 22 between 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.

Both absentee and non-absentee voters can vote in person at the commission office on the day of the election September 24, from 7:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m.

Precinct locations will be announced once they are finalized. 


March 2011

When: Saturday, March 26, 2011
Event: Sperry Hog Fry
Where: Mack Taylor Park, (North Peoria and 98th Street North) Sperry, OK
Noon until 2:00 PM

Presented by: Buel Anglen, Cara Cowan Watts & Lee Keener.

Details: BYOLC (Bring Your Own Lawn Chair)


January 12, 2011

Dear Cherokee Nation Voter:

Due to recent Legislations passed by the Cherokee Nation Tribal Council there have been changes to your voting district. Our district will now be District Five (5) and consist of Tulsa and Rogers counties. The current representatives for our district are Buel Anglen and Cara Cowan-Watts. The voting precincts in our district will be:

- Tulsa
- Collinsville
- Claremore
- Chelsea

Washington county will no longer be a part of our district. You may call our office at 1-800-353-2895 for any questions and we apologize for any inconvenience. Thank you.

Map of new Districts Updated Voter Registration Form


Cherokee Nation Election Services


Cherokee Nation History Class - Begins September 10, 2009, Collinsville Cherokee Community Building 1025 N. 12th St. Collinsville, OK.  Click here for more details.



Need a duplicate CDIB or Membership Card or a Cherokee Nation Registration application form? If so, visit our Downloads webpage.


P.O. Box 822 Sperry, OK  74073
(918) 396-4017 E-mail - Buel@buelanglen.com
Copyright 2003 - 2009

Site Hosting by Go-Pokes.com